“Back Up Now” Button is Disabled in Ubuntu’s Déjà Dup Application

Ubuntu includes a backup utility called Deja Dup that can be used to backup and restore user data within an Ubuntu partition. The app can be located in Unity’s Application Lens (Windows/Super key + A) by typing “deja dup” or “backups”. Deja Dup is primarily a wrapper for the duplicity command line utility which provides its core file operations and encryption capabilities. Duplicity uses GnuPG with a symmetric cipher for its encryption and signing operations. The encryption key is based upon a user-entered password which can be stored in the GNOME keyring if desired.

The configuration was simple. The only issue I ran into was a little back and forth with the app when setting the network backup location. After everything was set, I returned to the main page to manually initiate the first backup but noticed the Back Up Now button was disabled.

The fix was pretty simple. From a prompt, run:

pkill deja-dup

…then restart the app. There are some reports of also have to kill the duplicity process, but that wasn’t required in my case.

© mylevel4cache.com, 2019. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to mylevel4cache.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s